She

Amara Ogwuma
2 min readMar 6, 2019

--

Why didn’t you speak up?

I purse my lips together, I knew I had him thinking I was flustered. He is walking closer now, I want to snap, I feel the urge. I want him to realize I am in total control, but I have this planned out so I just blink and stare in confusion.

“You are scaring the child!” Aunt thunders

I raise my head, it was down, to avoid eye contacts. The tears are here, I sob and wipe the tears with my hands. He is clearly unease.

Don’t worry my dear we will get to the bottom of this, Aunt Whispers, almost aloud. She pulls me right into her arm. He is boiling in frustration

Won’t you say anything? She questions Papa, with her brows raised, she is getting impatient now.

Papa looks at us, he has been reading the papers and acting as though he isn’t interested in the conversation.

“Woman what will you have me say” he smirks and continues “she also accused my stepson of sleeping with her”

Rape! She corrects him, it is rape, call it what it is

“Whatever” he replies, staring at me, slut is written all over his face, I’m shocked he doesn’t say it out. It won’t be the first or second time anyway.

Sunk in my thoughts, I wonder what happens after now, being accused of seducing the son of a man who raped me. The father is doing the questioning, trying to instil fear in me so I don’t spill. Aunt, my only advocate since Mama passed won’t have any of this. She wanted to raise me but Papa wouldn’t hear of that, he cut off contacts between us, I found my way to hers when all this became too much to deal with.

“You better speak or I’m pressing charges”

What bloody charges? I ask, in my head. I wriggle out of Aunt’s embrace and make for the rest room.

Once in, I exhale and flip the toilet seat up, I know what to do. The thought just flashed through my head, I pick my phone and open the twitter app.

“How I was molested by my Father’s friend and his son, my sick and patriarchal father doesn’t believe me and now they threaten to sue me. They want me to keep quiet but I won’t. A THREAD”.

--

--

Amara Ogwuma

Writer. Data analyst. Comms/PR professional. YouTuber. Social worker. Black magic.